Struisbaai is a coastal settlement near the
Southern Tip of Africa and there is some debate
as to the origin of the name "Struisbaai". Some authorities
believe that it means "straw bay", referring to the thatch roofs of the
fishermen's cottages here. Others claim the name is derived from the Dutch "struisvogel"
or ostrich. According to legend, Struisbaai is named for the size of its beach - an Old Dutch word for "huge".
Struisbaai is a popular holiday destination for those in the know. It has excellent fishing as well as one of the best beaches for swimming or walking in the
Overberg - boasting the longest continuous beach in South Africa, a mere 14km. It is well worth a visit, particularly during the annual Geelstert Fees
(Yellowtail Festival) in March which puts one of the Cape's finest eating fish on the menu.
The charming little harbour, originally built in 1959 but enlarged in 1990, serves both local fishing boats known as 'chukkies' as well as ski boats for the flock
of visitors to the town during the holiday season. On most days it is easy to launch a kayak, small boat or rubber dingy off the beach, and board and kite sailing
are particularly good here. The historical white washed fisherman's cottages at Hotagterklip and the tiny thatch roof Anglican church are all national monuments which
have been restored. Presently one is operating as a farm stall and B&B establishment as a community project. Other activities include whale watching (July - September),
horse riding on the beaches, charter fishing trips and visiting the many curio shops and galleries in the area. A tarred runway (1100m) at Andrew's Field just 10km
from Struisbaai welcomes aircrafts to fly in with permission of course.